RSS

Elvis is Alive

06 May

…and he’s in my kitchen! Hopefully the title caught your attention and you will try out this recipe for Elvis cupcakes! I am pleasantly surprised at how well they turned out. Today was one of the few days that I did not feel much like baking. Mainly because I don’t like getting my kitchen dirty and having to wash dishes on my day off. But I had some bananas that were old and needed to be baked or thrown away, so I decided to find a new recipe to try. I also wanted to try something gluten-free to bring to our small group because one of the girls who attends cannot have gluten. I generally avoid gluten and grains – but lately I’ve been a little lax and have a few bites here and there. (and maybe a whole muffin too…oops!). I never expect anyone to cook or bake specifically to my dietary needs, but I like to bake “alternative” sweets so that everyone can enjoy them!

Now, about those awesome cupcakes I made. I went off of this website and used the first recipe listed with a little modification and tripled the batch. The original recipe says it will make 7 cupcakes, and I would say that is about right on. I was able to get 18 medium (regular sized) and 12 mini cupcakes out of a triple batch.  Now, the tricky part was the icing because although I wanted to make some amazing bacon-y type frosting, I didn’t have bacon. I thought about making a banana glaze, but ended up making a chocolate icing. I can’t totally tell you the measurements because I didn’t measure but I’ll put what I think I used and you can tweak the recipe to get the consistency you would like. This is very similar to how you would make sugar cookie or cinnamon roll icing.

Gluten-Free Elvis Cupcakes (Triple Batch)

3 cup JIFF Peanut Butter (original recipe calls for natural but I didn’t have any)
6 eggs
4 ripe bananas, mashed (I used one extra than called for)
1 Tbsp baking soda
1 Tbsp raw apple cider vinegar (you can use regular ACV as well)
1/8th tsp plus 2 more servings of Kal Pure Stevia (to taste) I did not add any extra sweetener to my mix

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Add all ingredients to a medium bowl and blend well with whisk.  Taste for sweetness. Using large scoop (1/4 cup), divide batter into 7 cupcake liners (using scant full large scoop).  Bake for 15-17 minutes.  DO NOT OVER BAKE!

Chocolate Icing

1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1-2 TBSP honey
1/2 boiling water
~2 cups powdered sugar

Place chocolate chips and honey into a heat proof bowl. Pour 1/4 cup of boiling water over chips and stir until melted. Add 1 to 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar and whisk, stir or beat with mixer until creamy and slowly drips off of a spatula. If the mixture is too thick, add a small amount of water and stir again. If the icing is too thin, keep adding powdered sugar until it thickens up. If the icing gets too stiff or dried out while you are icing your cupcakes, just add a little water and stir it up.

There you have it – the gluten-free Elvis Cupcake. The King lives on…until I eat them all.

image

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
