RSS

Fiesta Fandango 2.6 Race

27 Apr

Pearl and I ran to the park to register for the Fiesta Fandango 2.6 night run which is run along the Fiesta Flambeau night parade route. We got lightly rained on there and back but still had a nice run. Pearl is not the best at helping me register for races, but everyone still thought she was cute.

image

I was so excited when I got my race shirt and numbers because they gave us a normal number AND a Boston 4-15-13 race bib!!! I have been wanting one to support the Boston runners but didn’t know when it would actually happen.

image

My friends came and parked at my house and then we walked down to the start of the race, which was also the start of the Fiesta Flambeau Parade. We got to see some of the floats before the parade started.

image

image

image

Before the race!

image

Everyone getting lined up amid the parade chaos.

image

There were lots of fun, fiesta themed costumes, but the Cascarones were by far the best! If you don’t know what a Cascarone is, please come back next year during Fiesta and find out!

image

About half way through the race I was able to catch up to one guy carrying an American flag and it was really fun to hear the crowd cheer and chant “U-S-A, U-S-A!” as we ran past.

image

More costume pictures – a real-life pinata:

image

image

Taco Runners! They said I could be part of the group next year…pretty sure I’m going to do it.

image

Post-race picture:

image

After our race, we hiked back to the start of the race to watch the parade. I got to see the UT marching band along with several others.

image

Jazz Float.

image

San Antonio Stock Show and Rodeo Float – I might have to see if I can get on that next year.

image

It is a terrible picture, but I had to get a shot of how all the marching band members wear lights on their uniforms which adds a great effect since most of the parade is after dark.

image

I headed home a little before the parade was finishing up because I didn’t want to pay to use a porta-potty, especially since my house was only 6 blocks away! I grabbed a quick shot of the line of street sweepers ready to clean up after the parade.

image

The race was quite fun because all the people were sitting along the parade route and cheering for you the whole time. The end of race party had water, gatorade and free beer, Tecate to keep in line with the fiesta theme.

image

I am very glad I made the last-minute decision to run the race and watch the parade with my friends. All together, I ran about 6 miles and walk another 2.8 today and it all ended with a bang – literally, because I made it home just before the thunder, lightening and rain let loose on the city.

What are you doing this weekend?

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Fiesta Fandango 2.6 Race

  1. Sharon

    April 28, 2013 at 1:33 PM

    Great post
    Love that you noted the UT band
    We are converting you!!
    We walked the Katy trail & ended at the ice house(where we went after the heart walk) & had a beerita – thought of you!!!
    Everyone had their dogs with them!

     
  2. Melinda Buss

    April 29, 2013 at 11:24 AM

    What a great day/race! It looks like fun :) Jesse and Danica were home and I got to meet Zida. She is a sweetie! I did some painting and pulled a few dead flower stalks out of the beds from last year. I think that means I’ll have flowers this year! And the weather was really nice for the first time all year! HAPPY :) Love you, have a great week!

     
  3. Danica

    April 29, 2013 at 5:22 PM

    looks like a ton of fun!
    I love that you got a Boston race bib…where else can you get one?!

     

Leave a Reply

 
