RSS

Wear Your Wedding Dress….Again!

22 Apr

Sometimes, you get an idea in your head and it just won’t go away. This was one of them because I really loved my wedding dress and really wanted to wear it more than just on my wedding day. I read about people dying and shortening their dresses to make them like formal gowns, but when do I ever wear a formal gown?? So, my next idea was throwing a “wear your wedding dress” party. I wanted to do it last year, in the fall and earlier this spring, but things got hectic (5 trips to MN!!) and I also wanted to wait until a few of my friends got married – so they could come to.

Yesterday, it finally happened. I had grand plans to decorate, have candles, flowers and all the typical wedding shower/wedding look, but that didn’t really happen. My friend offered to host the party after my first idea of a riverwalk hotel suite and dinner with our husbands was nixed by Fiesta. Some of my friends were also embarrassed to have any one see them in their dresses (wierd…yes!). But either way, it worked out great. We were able to have a relaxing day getting made up and dressed up and then taking fun pictures.

My friend has an awesome party house with an open floor plan, great breakfast nook for the food table and lots of big windows with natural lighting.

IMG_1614      IMG_1619

We had a chocolate fountain with fruit and pretzels to dip, some veggies, bread and cheese spread, some champagne punch, and of course wedding cake! I pre-iced the cake at work and then finished decorating it while chatting with my friends. I wasn’t super happy with it, but had fun using royal icing and trying out different icing techniques.
IMG_1621       IMG_1620

Everyone got their dress out and ready for the hanging dress picture.

IMG_1613

It was funny to see that the tallest person in our group had the shortest train on her dress!

IMG_1617

Most of us had our garters, so we all took a picture wearing them again.

IMG_1622

When a bride has to take pictures of her fellow brides, it get’s a little complicated but makes for funny pictures!

IMG_1625

Here is what she was taking pictures of:

IMG_1626

My friend has these awesome stairs, so naturally we all took pictures there.

IMG_1628

The Final Product: 5 beautiful brides!!

IMG_1624

This was a very fun day and I can’t wait to do it again! When was the last time you wore your wedding dress??

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 22, 2013 in When in Texas...

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Wear Your Wedding Dress….Again!

  1. Sharon

    April 22, 2013 at 2:50 PM

    What a fun day – y’all all looked beautiful – and the cake was awesome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
