RSS

Workouts 1/1 – 1/6

08 Jan

NOTHING!!! Ok, you probably don’t believe that, but really, I did NOTHING! Thank you to a nice cold I caught, I literally ate soup, slept, napped, drank orange juice, and worked just enough to get my work done. Well, I did walk the dog half-way around the block at least once a day, but that is maybe 1/3 mile total but that just doesn’t count.

I’m trying my best to completely recover from my cold so that I can start running again before my half marathon on January 20th. Oh yeah, that is 12 days away and I haven’t run since last year! AH!!! Nerves are kicking in for sure, but I really hope that even if I haven’t been running too much a healthy body will still carry me to my goal of sub-two hours.

Any advice or thoughts on running while sick?? What is the best way for me to train up until my half?? Right now I’m planning to run every part of the course broken into 3-5 mile sections so I am familiar with it and probably eat good and drink more OJ! I’m looking forward to this next week and getting back on the workout wagon – I really feel out of whack with no physical activity.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in Running, Work Out Logs

 

4 responses to “Workouts 1/1 – 1/6

  1. Danica

    January 8, 2013 at 8:09 PM

    I always debate so much with myself when I’m trying to decide whether or not to run when I’m sick…I typically follow the rule that if I’m sick above the neck (head cold) then I do run, just at a lighter intensity, which tissues within reach ;) and if I’m sick below the neck (achey, upset stomach, etc.) then I take the day off…just do what you feel is right though girl!! Get healthy asap so that you can feel great by the time that half rolls around!
    I’d love to hear about all of your race details by the way, I’ve been craving a race so bad lately it about makes me cry.

     
    • Emily @ runningmyliferace

      January 14, 2013 at 4:50 PM

      Come on down to TX, we have LOTS of races during Jan-Mar when you can’t really run outside in MN!

       
  2. Mom

    January 9, 2013 at 8:51 AM

    I like that strategy of running the entire route in parts to become familiar with the route. Good luck getting back to training. Advice? don’t start back training too strong…you will need the reserves for the race – just a Mom’s thoughts :-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
