RSS

Merry Christmas

25 Dec

IMG_1309

Merry Christmas everyone!! We are celebrating in Dallas with Ben’s side of the family and it is snowing here! Definitely looks like home to me :)

We had a pretty relaxed morning. I got a short kickbox workout in, thanks to YouTube. Ben woke up and we opened presents around 11. I guess when you get old you are excited about presents whenever you open them AND you value sleep. I had worked from 6pm on December 23rd to 8:30am on December 24th so I was more than happy to sleep in until 8:30 this morning. My mother-in-law made an awesome Christmas tree monkey bread!

IMG_1291

I gave Ben new luggage in University of Texas orange and black. He has needed a rolling suitcase for travelling and now he has one. We also got tickets to a Minnesota Timberwolves v. the San Antonio Spurs basketball game – thank you Mom!

I had a wonderful time watching my mother-in-law open her present because it was something I knew how to pick out: Cowgirl boots!!

IMG_1300

My stocking was filled with a great workout shirt, Practical Paleo the book, and an awesome Coach clutch. My mom was awesome and sent presents to us in the mail, which included a salt and pepper shaker that I had asked for.

IMG_1293

Also, we got the game Monopoly and will probably be having a Monopoly marathon later tonight.

IMG_1302

Ben got lots of comfy cloths, including sweat pants, pajamas and a cool new bathrobe. I’m thinking he will never leave the house because he will be so comfortable on the couch.

IMG_1305

My sister-in-law sent homemade vanilla extract – SO COOL! I have to find out how she made it, and packaged it because it came in a super cute bottle.

IMG_1296

Each year, my extended family gets together and has Christmas. This year the cousins had a gift exchange and my awesome cousin, E, send me new running gear and Burt’s bees hand cream. Absolutely perfect, because after washing my hands about 50 times a day, they are really dry, cracked and NOT pretty.

IMG_1301

I am so blessed to have great friends and family. I wish I could be with each and every one of them to celebrate the holidays, but I am learning that whenever you spend time with family, it is a celebration. It doesn’t have to be a specific day or specific activity, but the time spent together is what is most important. That is also true of our relationship with Christ. I find that sometimes more emphasis is put on our religious activity during holidays, when really He wants to spend time with us each day. Any time spent with him is special and meaningful. May you be blessed with great time spend with family, friends and the Lord this Christmas season and each and every day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2012 in Holidays, When in Texas...

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Merry Christmas

  1. Carrie

    December 26, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    So I see Santa caught you two under the mistletoe! How sweet! Thank you for sharing your Christmas thoughts – so true. Much love!

     
  2. Danica @ It's Progression

    December 26, 2012 at 9:21 PM

    so funny that it snowed there! glad you had a great Christmas…
    I’d love to hear what you think of the book Practical Paleo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
