RSS

Birthday Celebration

07 Oct

My birthday was actually earlier this week, but I am learning that now a days, the actual date doesn’t matter, it’s when you celebrate that counts. Last year Christmas was before and after the 25th because that is when we could celebrate with our families. This year I was determined to plan something and hang out with people because it seems that if you don’t, nothing will just happen on its own.

I decided to celebrate on Saturday, since another friend was having a party on Friday. I also had to work Saturday morning so I didn’t want to be tired from a Friday party. It just happened that the San Antonio Riverwalk Association Lucky Duck Race was on Saturday. The race was held at the Pearl Brewery, which is very close to our house. This is not a running race, but an actual race of rubber ducks down the San Antonio River! I adopted a duck which benefited the local homeless shelter, Haven for Hope.

We missed the start of the race, but luckily the river isn’t flowing very fast and rubber ducks don’t swim too fast. About half of the ducks went over the small falls on the river and got a big head start on the others.

And they’re off!

The others took the slower, scenic path and meandered down the first stretch of the race.

Slow, scenic route

And some ducks took a wrong turn and just got stuck in traffic!

Dead End!

Making their way to the finish line

Ben & I enjoying the race.

Wrong way!

Why are all these funny-looking ducks in my river?

In the end, my duck did not win, place or show (first, second, and third for non-horsey people). I am happy to have participated in this good cause, and really should have bought more ducks. I hope you can join my team next year and adopt some ducks for a good cause! After the race we went home for a little while to watch the beginning of the University of Texas football game. Next stop, Alamo Street Eat Bar for dinner, hanging out and watching football. This is a food truck park in an old drive-in located in Southtown.

This has definitely become one of our favorite places to eat and have a relaxing dinner in San Antonio. We enjoy the variety of food trucks because each of us gets to eat what we want, even if it’s completely different cuisine! If you haven’t checked out food trucks lately, you should! They are becoming very popular and serve gourmet food at a reasonable price. My Minnesota friend was the first to show up, even before me! That is what happens when you have lived in the south for a while…you just learn to show up exactly on time, or usually a little late. I enjoyed some Korean Takos from @takoriya truck. There were several burgers and one veggie burger from @attaboyburgers, some HUGE sushi rolls from a new truck (@ZumSushi) I haven’t tried and some gyros from @wheeliegourmet.

Chatting it up around the table

My friend L asked if she could bake me a cake, to which I replied, “Of course!” She is a great cook and makes the main dish for our Monday small group each week. She was so sweet and even asked what I could eat – chocolate and no dairy please!

Perfect Birthday Cake

Check that out! If you can’t see too well, it’s a chocolate cake with chocolate frosting decorated with Kit-Kat’s on the sides and M&M’s on top. Just what a girl needs to round out a birthday dinner.

I had a wonderful birthday earlier in the week and I had a wonderful birthday celebration with friends Saturday night. I missed my family and friends who couldn’t be there, but I am so blessed to have good friends in San Antonio.

Thank you Lord for one more year of life, please guide me in the next year to do Your will and bring you Glory.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Birthday Celebration

  1. Sharon Crowder

    October 7, 2012 at 10:32 AM

    Great post!! Looks fun Wish we could have been there! Praying for a great year!

    Sent from my iPhone

     
  2. Mom

    October 8, 2012 at 9:47 AM

    How fun to hear about the duck race! Laughed out loud :-) Your birthday sounded very fun, honey! I miss you too! Much love, Mom

     

Leave a Reply

 
