RSS

I might Be the Match

23 Sep

Today at church our sermon was titled The Blood. We watched this video, and then heard a short sermon about how Jesus gave his blood as a sacrifice for our sins. Our church also did a Be The Match drive, which encouraged people to sign up to be bone marrow donors. As we walked into church, Ben said, “I’ll probably sign up for this,” and my response was, “I probably won’t!” Here’s why: I had a friend sign up last year and just hearing what a person might go through to be a donor did NOT make me want to do it. I’m already squirmy about needles and having my blood taken so why on earth would I want to have a spinal tap?? Yeah, that’s just crazy.

Earlier in the morning, I had read part of my bible study lesson for the week which was about obeying what God tells us to do. One of the points it made was that we need to plan to obey God before we ask Him for something or how we should proceed with a certain situation. I definitely am and planner, but had never thought about planning in this way. One of my notes on the lesson was that I needed to put aside my logical thinking and plan to obey God’s leading even if it isn’t logical.

Fast forward to the middle of the church service, in which I was struck with the clear application of my bible study lesson. I had already decided to not donate marrow even though I hadn’t asked God what he would want me to do. Then I went over the decision of being an organ donor in the event of my death. I’m willing to donate any part of my body to save someone else’s life after I die, but not before I die? Hm, that doesn’t seem very loving of me. It would be a huge sacrifice to have a spinal tap and donate bone marrow to someone, especially someone I don’t know. Maybe you can tell where I’m going with this, but as I prayed and went over this in my mind, I decided that I should sign up to Be The Match and be willing to make the sacrifice.

The awesome thing about this, is after I made me decision, I learned that the process has changed, and you do not need to get a spinal tap to give bone marrow. You only give blood, or parts of your blood to the recipient. God works in mysterious ways, and He can be trusted to lead us to do the best thing for our lives!

Would you consider signing up for the bone marrow registry? Do you give blood?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 23, 2012 in Faith

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “I might Be the Match

  1. Sharon

    September 24, 2012 at 4:22 PM

    I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t because I heard it was painful….you are an inspiration!

     

Leave a Reply

 
