RSS

Dallas AHA Heart Walk

09 Sep

This past weekend we traveled up to Dallas to participate in the American Heart Association Heart Walk in remembrance of Ben’s cousin-in-law, Bobby Rhine. The event was not dedicated to Bobby, but a team was formed in his honor. Bobby passed away unexpectedly from a heart attack last year on Labor Day weekend. We met up with Ben’s extended family, friends and many other walkers supporting the American Heart Association to walk a 3 mile route in downtown Dallas on Saturday morning. It was actually chilly, since a ‘cool’ front had come through! I only packed tank-tops and shorts, so I was very happy to receive my team t-shirt to wear over my tank top.

The walk was for a great cause, but I will say the non-competitive atmosphere made it very slow-moving. We did a slow shuffle for at least the first mile but luckily the crowd spread out after that point. We enjoyed chatting with family as we walked and after the walk we met at the Katy Trail Ice House for drinks and food. I enjoyed a margarita and venison chili burger for breakfast/lunch. It was a wonderful place to sit outside and take in the beautiful day.

After my breakfast margarita, I had to take a LONG nap! I was pretty tired from my first full week of waking up at 3 or 4 am for work. The evening included munching on guacamole and cucumber chips and watching the Texas Longhorn football game. On Sunday evening we planned dinner with the extended family. I had received a request for a red velvet cake, which was Bobby’s favorite. I took the liberty to decorate it after the t-shirts we received from the heart walk. I had a lot of fun making the cake and was even more happy when it got good reviews!

20120909-170423.jpg

I am so thankful we have so much fun with our family! What is your favorite thing about spending time with family?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in When in Texas...

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Dallas AHA Heart Walk

  1. Sharon

    September 11, 2012 at 6:44 PM

    Getting to know my sweet dil!

     

Leave a Reply

 
