RSS

Oreo Chocolate Mousse Cake

05 Sep
Oreo Chocolate Mousse Cake

I tried to write this post a few weeks ago, but when it was almost finished, the whole thing got deleted. Here is the shortener, mainly picture version!

I had the chance to make another birthday cake this week, and it came with a great opportunity to use my creativity skills and create a cake I’ve never made before. Luckily, I got some help from The Crumb Boss and her YouTube site for recipes and how-to’s. The videos had a little more chatting than I prefer, but great to watch for technique and recipes. Before I get into making this great creation of a cake, check out what came in that big box:

I got a Kitchen-Aid Mixer!! Woo-hoo. This cake really made good use of my new mixer. I am learning to get all of my ingredients prepared before beginning the baking process. Making sure eggs, milk and butter are at room temperature will ensure your cakes and icing bind together well. If you add cold milk to your butter and sugar mixture, it can cause it to seize up and get lumpy.

Also, prepare your pans before you start mixing anything, that way you can immediately pour batter into pans and put them in the oven. Some cakes will not rise correctly if they sit after mixing or before being put into the oven.

While my chocolate cakes were baking, I began making chocolate mousse with help from the Cake Boss videos and website. First off, whip heavy cream.

Next, melt chocolate. Make sure you have as much as the recipe calls for, I only had half and ended up adding a few different chocolate bars I had around the house!

Whip egg whites until they have soft peaks.

Slowly fold half egg whites into chocolate. Add whipped cream and other half egg whites until smooth.

At some point, use food processor to chop up oreos. Begin layering process: chocolate cake, chocolate mousse and oreo crumbs.

Remember to add oreos BEFORE placing middle layer on cake. Or you will have to attempt to pull the middle layer off like I did – very nerve-racking! Lesson learned.

Finish layering cake. Figure out how to ice cake. I ended up having a lot of the chocolate sauce left that wasn’t made into mousse, so I decided to pour it over the cake kind of like a ganache.

I was very happy with the end result, even though, per usual, things didn’t go exactly as planned.

Happy Birthday M! She is demonstrating the Mexican tradition of taking a bite out of your cake before it is served. They were telling me that someone will usually push your face into the cake, so she was pretty worried about that. All of the girls restrained our men, and she came away with a cake-free face!

I love living in San Antonio and the new friends I have met here. I am getting the chance to learn about another culture and they are challenging me to bake new and interesting things! What do you love about where you live?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2012 in Baking, Cakes, When in Texas...

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Oreo Chocolate Mousse Cake

  1. Sharon

    September 6, 2012 at 8:26 AM

    Awesome Cake Emily! Who sent the mixer?

     
  2. Mom

    September 11, 2012 at 9:19 AM

    Emily, this is amazing! Every cake gets more complex than the last! P.S. I’m SURE I taught you to have all your ingredients at room temp! ha!

     
  3. Angela

    September 11, 2012 at 1:37 PM

    Wow, what a great birthday gift for your friend! The cake looks awesome! I’m jealous of your mixer, I’ve been eyeing those mixers for years and that looks like the jumbo one! I don’t bake enough to justify having one. Have you moved into your new apartment with the bigger kitchen yet?

     

Leave a Reply

 
