RSS

A Dallas Weekend

07 Aug

Last weekend we drove up to Dallas for Ben’s class reunion. We had a great drive through the countryside but we were completely exhausted by the time we got there. I got a great night of sleep and woke up ready to get some exercise in. My work schedule has been  absolutely crazy and it has been very hard to get some workouts in this week.

I got talked into going to Crossfit by my father-in-law. I decided to go for a short run and end up at the Crossfit gym for the morning workout. When I got there we did a quick warm up of a 400 meter run, 20 walking lunges, 20 hip lifts, 20 toe-kicks, 20 air squats, 15 push-ups and 15 mountain climbers.  Our WOD (work out of the day) could be done by your self or with a partner. My father-in-law was nice enough to volunteer to do it with me, so we did the following workout as a team for time.

400 meter run
100 push-ups (25 alternating, I did 25 on my toes and 25 on my knees)
400 meter run
100 sit-ups (25 alternating, 50 per person)
400 meter run
100 air squats (25 alternating, 50 per person)
400 meter run
100 pull-ups (10 alternating, 50 per person, I did all of mine with a band to help me)

Our time was 23:10, which was pretty good, until you consider some people did the whole thing by themselves in almost the same time, Oh well, we got a good workout in, and I was definitely tired! Next stop was going home for a shower and some breakfast. Since we were going to Ben’s class reunion and it was in Dallas, I was feeling some major pressure to get my nails done (it’s a Texas thing, you know). Luckily my mother-in-law needed to get her nails re-done and we went together. It was a great, relaxing experience and we got to chat for a while too. I got a French manicure in shellac on my fingers and hot pink toe-nails.

I had a salad for lunch and then changed into my suit to spend a little time laying out by the pool. There was a nice floatie in the pool area, so I layed on that in the water. Having a pool makes the Texas heat not feel so bad. I only lasted about an hour and then felt like I was getting fried and had to go into the house. After a quick nap, I jumped in the shower and started getting ready for the reunion party. I blow dried my hair and it got a little crazy!

image

Big hair Texas crazy, I should say. I’m getting Tex-i-fied I guess!

I decided to take my camera to the re-union so I could get some recent pictures of Ben and his friends, but in perfect Emily style, I totally forgot to take any pictures. D-A-M-N, as my mother would say. Oh well, at least we have the memories, which I have to say are quite fun! I really had a great time even though I didn’t really know anyone at the party.

What fun did you have last weekend?

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
