RSS

Chocolate-filled Banana Cupcakes

27 Jul
Chocolate-filled Banana Cupcakes

For our second week in cake decorating class, we were instructed to make 6-12 cupcakes, filling and frosting. I had some very ripe bananas that I wanted to use for banana cupcakes. I slightly modified my banana bread recipe, mostly by using cake flower in a larger ratio to the liquid ingredients. For the chocolate filling, I used butter, melted chocolate and a little oil. The buttercream frosting was the standard vanilla recipe from class.

We colored some of the frosting to practice decorating and then we learned how to swirl the frosting to make two or three different colors show up in one swirl of frosting. Pink, yellow and white were my colors of choice and it turned out beautiful! I was totally impressed at how easy it was to make the cupcakes look that cool.We also practiced two kinds of flowers, and leaves. My green icing for the leaves was a little too watery, so they kind of turned into green blobs on the flowers. I didn’t like the colors of the flowers, so I didn’t take any pictures. Oops…bad blogger! I’ll have to make some to put on a cake and show you pictures.

Thank you to my mother-in-law for buying me a cool cupcake carrier! It make transporting my decorated cupcakes much easier and I wasn’t worried about ruining them because they didn’t slide all over the place.

What is your favorite kitchen accessory? What new baking/cooking/decorating techniques have you learned lately?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2012 in Cakes

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Chocolate-filled Banana Cupcakes

  1. Sharon

    July 27, 2012 at 12:49 PM

    Very pretty! thinking of you!

     
  2. interiorapartment

    July 29, 2012 at 12:01 AM

    oh my goodness!!! delicious ! xxx Cat

     
  3. Danica @ It's Progression

    July 30, 2012 at 9:02 AM

    they’re adorable!! I missed that you’re taking a class–very cool. How’s the job hunt going?

     

Leave a Reply

 
