RSS

Birthday Cake #1

24 Jul
Birthday Cake #1

I was lucky enough to have my co-worker email me pictures of her birthday cake I made last week. This one was a half box, half scratch cake. We had been out of town for my Grandma’s funeral and I hadn’t had time to get ingredients to bake a cake from scratch. I ended up buy a box of lemon cake and making chocolate butter cream from scratch. Luckily box cakes taste good, because I have never made a lemon cake from scratch before. I would have worried about the cake tasting right if I would have made it from scratch.

I had fun using a tri-colored frosting bag to make the pattern on the bottom of the cake. I also used drop flowers on the top to add a little something to the lettering. I definitely write better cursive letters than printing when I’m using frosting. This was a fun, basic cake.

Lemon cake with chocolate frosting is an odd combination, but it tastes great. What odd combinations do you enjoy?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Cakes

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
