RSS

Birthday Cake #2

23 Jul
Birthday Cake #2

Apparently July is the month for birthdays…I have several cousins, a brother-in-law, father-in-law, several co-workers and their children all with birthdays in July. What does this mean? It means I am busy making cakes in my free time. Yay, for getting more experience baking from scratch and decorating. My favorite thing about this is that I am able to make different flavors of cake and frosting to suit the preferences of each person. Two weeks ago I made two birthday cakes in one week. This is cake #2 because I forgot my camera and didn’t take pictures of cake #1.

This cake was a regular yellow cake with chocolate buttercream frosting. I learned the chocolate buttercream is VERY thick and you need a lot of water to get it to the right consistency for spreading on the cake. I had a little left-over white buttercream from a previous project and colored it with violet for the edging and writing. I really felt that this cake needed something more in terms of decorating, but just didn’t have the time to figure it out. Such is the life of an aspiring baker/decorator with a full-time job! Here you can see the edging detail. I need to work on my swirls more, but I was pleased with how the spacing turned out.

If you could do any job in the world, what would it be? I have a toss-up between two, one is owning a horse stable and teaching riding lessons and the other is a full-time cake decorator.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in Cakes

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Birthday Cake #2

  1. interiorapartment

    July 23, 2012 at 10:41 PM

    wow great result xx Cat

     
  2. Danica @ It's Progression

    July 24, 2012 at 1:56 PM

    Emily, you’re doing a GREAT job!!
    23rd birthday request: decorated cake from Emily :)
    If I could do anything I wanted I would love to be a stay-at-home-mom, baker, and dietician (making meal plans for people, plus workouts, etc.)…I really hope you find a job baking and decorating cakes!

     
  3. Mom

    August 10, 2012 at 1:08 PM

    Love, this cake, too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
