RSS

Strawberry Jello Cake

22 Jul
Strawberry Jello Cake

Another weekend and another cake experiment, this time with an instant Jello package added into the cake mix. The last two cakes I made turned out slightly dry, especially on the edges. In search of a recipe from scratch that would stay moist, I thought I had heard that adding pudding mix would help. And of course, if pudding would make a cake moist, surely Jello would do the same. I’ll be completely honest, it didn’t totally work out. For some reason there was a hard crust on all the cake edges, which I had to shave off before stacking and decorating.

The finished product did turn out quite well, even after the slightly messed up baking. I’m not sure I will use jello in scratch cakes again, or I will have to find out how to bake them properly. It worked great when I used the box cake mix, but I feel like that isn’t being a true baker.

I used my new frosting recipe which I learned in my cake decorating class. Everyone thought it was great and tasted “like a store cake.” I’m not sure if that is a good or bad thing, but I’ll take it to mean that I make professional tasting cakes. I working on using new and different decorating patterns and tips on each cake, so that I get more experience doing different things.

What flavor, style, color, and design should I use for my next cake?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2012 in Cakes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Strawberry Jello Cake

  1. interiorapartment

    July 23, 2012 at 6:31 AM

    ohhhh this cake looks so yummy! love it :) xx Cat

     
  2. Arlene

    July 28, 2012 at 10:43 AM

    The cake looks pretty. Pudding mix does make the cake more moist. So does adding more oil or fat, like butter. Maybe you could start experimenting with a Victoria Sponge as all the main ingredients, like flour, butter, and sugar are measured out equally and then work from there as that is one of the most basic of cakes and difficult to get wrong. Happy Baking!

     
  3. Mom

    August 10, 2012 at 1:05 PM

    Emily, just beautiful!

     

Leave a Reply

 
