RSS

Peanut Butter Carmel Snicker Cookie bars

02 Jun
Peanut Butter Carmel Snicker Cookie bars

I asked Ben what dessert he would like me to make over the weekend and his immediate response was, “those peanut butter bars I like.” Now, to most people, that might sound pretty random, but I knew exactly what he meant. No-Bake PB bars which I make with white cookies of some kind, not chocolate cookies as the recipe calls for. But, I wasn’t in the mood to make something I had already done. I wanted to make new, exciting desserts. So, I decided to make a version of Death by Snicker bars, which I had seen on Iowagirleats.com. I didn’t want to make the whole cookie base from scratch, so I used a bag of Betty Crocker peanut butter cookie mix as my base.

I mixed as directed on the package and then added three chopped up snicker bars. The mixture was a little thick, so I decided to add 1/2 cup of oatmeal and one more egg. After that was well mixed I plopped it into a 9″ pie pan and on the top, I spooned the dulce de leche (mexican caramel sauce) and swirled it around.

I baked it at 350 degrees for about 45-55 minutes. I’m really not sure on the time because I forgot about it until I started smelling peanut butter cookies! When I took it out the middle was a little loose, but it firmed up after sitting in the fridge overnight. Ben said they were pretty good, but he still liked the other ones better. Oh well, I tried to make something new and tasty. I’ll have to make the PB bars after he eats all of these.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Peanut Butter Carmel Snicker Cookie bars

  1. Sharon

    June 2, 2012 at 10:48 AM

    Oh my gosh!!! they look awesome…..wish I wasn’t dieting… :)

     
    • Emily @ runningmyliferace

      June 2, 2012 at 11:11 AM

      They were pretty good, but could be better. Maybe I’ll make them again when you want to try them :)

       
  2. Renae Hansen

    August 9, 2012 at 8:53 PM

    YUMMY!!!!! I want :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
