RSS

Chocolate Waffles

28 May
Chocolate Waffles

Ever since I saw a recipe in the March Food Network magazine for chocolate waffles, I have been dying to try them. Per my usual, I didn’t follow the recipe given, but I combined several to make my own, unique version of chocolate waffles. Thank you Pure2RawComfyBelly and FoodNetwork.com for the helpful recipe ideas.  Really, these should be called Almond Chocolate Protein Waffles because of the ingredients.

The first one turned out pretty dry, and tasteless. I definitely over-cooked it. So I added a little more sweetener, protein powder and oil hoping to moisten and sweeten them up. I also decreased the cooking time.

image

By the time I got to the last waffle, I figured out how long to cook them so they came out crispy, yet fluffy. The taste wasn’t exactly what I imagined a chocolate waffle would be. I think next time I will chop up some chocolate chips to add to the batter. Also, I would decrease the egg by 1 and add 1/4-1/2 cup of oil to add more moisture to the batter.

All in all, this was a fun experiment and these were very filling waffles. They also helped me truly break my no sugar streak, as I HAD to have regular syrup on them. I have leftovers for tomorrow, and possibly the next day!

Chocolate Waffle Recipe
1/2 c almond meal (or almond flour)
1/4 c cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s dark)
3 scoops vanilla whey protein powder
4 eggs (probably only use 3)
1 tsp olive oil (could increase to 1/4 c in place of 1 egg)
2 packets truvia
1 tsp honey (optional)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda

What do you think about chocolate waffles? Any tasty recipes you’ve been dying to try?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Chocolate Waffles

Leave a Reply

 
