RSS

Eggplant F’armesean TX-ified

04 May

I bought an eggplant at the store to try something new. I’ve eaten them before, but I don’t buy them regularly. It sat in my fridge for several days while I searched the internet for the perfect recipe to use it in. Luckily, it didn’t take too long to find a great one by Melissa Joulwan. Oh, did I mention I wanted a Paleo recipe? Paleo, you ask, but you hated it before, why are you eating that way again? Well, long story made short, I’m trying it again and this time around it’s going a little better.

Back to this awesome recipe, which you can see the original here. Well, of course I needed to modify TX-ifiy it so I’ll list my ingredients below.

1 medium eggplant
3 large tomatoes
1/2 zucchini
olive oil
salt
1 lb ground beef (or any other kind of meat would be good)
1 jar of marinara sauce
2 small garlic cloves (crushed and minced)
1 jalapeno pepper (seeded and chopped)
1 egg

I will say that this is a time-consuming recipe, this is not 30-minute meal or even 60-minute meal worthy, but it is well worth the time! Start by slicing your eggplant, tomatoes and zucchini about 1/2 an inch thick and tossing them in some olive oil, so they are covered. Lay them on your baking sheets (I put parchment paper down first) and cook them at 375 for 20 minutes. While they are cooking start browning your ground beef and saute the garlic and jalapeno in the same pan so all the flavors meld together. Turn the oven up to 400 and let the veggies cook for another 10 minutes.

Awesome Roasted Veggies

Marinara sauce & ground beef

Let everything cool a bit and then begin assembly. You will need a medium casserole dish or large loaf pan or even a round pan. Whisk the egg and add it to the marinara sauce, and then combine with the ground beef. Start by placing a layer of eggplant, then layer of tomato and top with zucchini in the casserole dish. Pour about 1/3 of the sauce over the layers so they are covered.

Layering the Ingredients

Repeat layering with remaining veggies (I got two layers out of this) and top with remaining sauce. Now pop it back in the oven for 30 minutes on 350. After the 30 minutes, take it out of the oven and let it set for 40 minutes, if you aren’t completely famished AND dying to dig in!

Typical Casserole – not pretty but VERY tasty

This was an awesome dish! It was a little watery because of the tomatoes, so I think less of those and more other veggies would give it more structure. I ate almost 1/3 of the casserole the first night because it was SO delicious. I think it was partly due to the marinara sauce I used, but the roasted veggies had amazing flavor as well.

What new recipes have you tried lately?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Cooking

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Eggplant F’armesean TX-ified

Leave a Reply

 
