RSS

Mini Apple Pie Cookies

18 Apr

Each Monday, we attend a dinner and bible study and I usually bring dessert. I’m trying to branch out a little from the usual cake or cupcake routine, so this week I decided to find a recipe I could make with the Betty Crocker Sugar Cookie Mix. I bought the mix at Christmas-time with thoughts that I would make and decorate sugar cookies, but if you read about our 2011 Holiday season, you’ll see that I did NOT have time for any extra anything! So tonight, thanks to BettyCrocker.com recipes, I got an idea for mini apple pie cookies. The original recipe can be found here, which is actually for Mini Pumpkin Pie cookies. I will be making those next fall for sure!

Pumpkin Pie Cookies

Don’t those look awesome?? Yeah, I couldn’t resist attempting to make something similar because if you read my baking or cooking blogs, you know that it is impossible for me to follow a recipe 100%. So, I’ll tell you how I made my Mini Apple Pie Cookies. I mixed the bag of cookie mix as suggested, 1 stick of butter plus one egg. I then placed muffin cups into my muffin tin and put about 2 to 3 tablespoons of dough in the cups. Trying to press the dough into pie crust-like shapes was difficult, because the dough just stuck to my fingers. I baked the dough about 5-8 minutes in the oven at 350, until the edges were a little brown, but not fully cooked. I took them out of the oven, and added about 1 to 1 1/2 tablespoons of canned apple pie filling to each cup, kind of pressing a hole in the middle. I topped them with a little more dough, which I tried to make like a crumble, but just didn’t get right. That will be a future assignment. I popped them back in the oven for about 10 minutes or maybe more, until the dough on top looked done and the edges were golden brown.

image

Although my version doesn’t look as pretty as the Betty Crocker website, I will say that the apple pie cookies were a hit. I was surprised at how good they tasted, and at the flavor combination. You were definitely eating a sugar cookie, but it also was like eating apple pie. All in all, a great, quick dessert (one hour total to make 18 cookies), the only downside is that NONE of it was from scratch.

What is your go-to dessert recipe? What new dessert have you made lately?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 18, 2012 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Mini Apple Pie Cookies

  1. Baker on the Rise

    April 19, 2012 at 10:33 AM

    Yes, these look awesome :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
