RSS

I Got a PR!!

25 Mar

I just have to share this: I got a new PR for the mile! I ran a mile in 7:26 yesterday morning! I really did not think that it was possible for me to run a mile that fast. I think at one time I may have run a 6:45 mile, but that was in jr high when I weighed about 80 pounds, it was just easier back then.

How did this happen? Well, I decided to go to the track and run 3 1600m(1 mile) intervals with a goal of an 8 minute mile pace. Since my previous 7:31 mile PR last week, I thought this would be a good test of my endurance at a faster pace. I also had lots of extra energy to burn since I totally slacked on working out during the week.

When I got to the track, there was one girl and one guy running. The girl was definitely running fast miles. I began my first round and struggled to get my pacing right the whole way. I was just a little too slow and had to push pretty hard at the end to meet my time goal. About the time I was going to start the second mile, the girl was running up to my starting line. I quickly stepped into pace with her and asked what pace she was running.7 minute miles for two miles but I’m backing off that a little right now.Ah, 7 minute miles?? Well there was no way I could keep up, but she was nice enough to invite me to try. I made it about 500 meters before I was falling off her pace. I finished that mile in 7:31.

Again, about the time I was starting my next mile, she came around to my starting line. I began running with her to try to keep up again and I made it about the same distance before falling off her pace. I was more out of breath than anything at this point but I kept pushing as hard as I could to keep my pace. It was a tough last 400 meters(I can do this), (only 300 meters left), 200 meters (maybe I’ll make it), 100 meters, (PUSH to the finish) and OH MY GOODNESS, my watch stopped at 7:26!

I was pretty happy about that and almost ran another mile to see if I could beat it. Then my reasoning brain took over and reminded me that injuries happen when you over-train. One more hard mile would definitely be over-training since I hadn’t run in a whole week!

How have you surprised yourself lately?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “I Got a PR!!

  1. Danica

    March 28, 2012 at 6:18 AM

    Way to go girl! That’s a FAST mile!

     
  2. Mom

    April 26, 2012 at 9:45 AM

    This is so fun to read! Congrats Emily!

     

Leave a Reply

 
