RSS

What determines your work ethic?

22 Mar

As an American, I am prone to desiring instant gratification, which means I desire to do the smallest amount of work to see the greatest results. This is true in every area of my life. I’d like to think that eating a salad for lunch will translate into “I ate healthy today.” or if I workout once during the week I’ll be in shape by the weekend! Or how about in my spiritual life, I pray a quick prayer in the morning and expect that I will be “set” for the day.

To keep up a relationship with someone, you have to communicate on a regular basis with them. I’m learning as you get older, it is harder to make friends and harder to keep up with relationships because you have to make a big effort to fit people into your schedule. I no longer have class with my friends, live with them in the dorms, work with them on a daily basis or have weekly family dinners. I now schedule phone calls during the week and make quick weekend trips to stay in touch with the people I care about.

Colossians 3:23-24 “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not men, since you know you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. 

So, what determines your work ethic? According the Colossians, it should be our relationship with the Lord. We should do EVERYTHING as we are working for Him. We also should work at everything with all our HEART. To me, that means we are doing everything out of our love for the Lord. If we love the Lord, it should show in all we do. Hm, well that is not true about everything I do in my life. Sometimes I don’t feel like working hard at mundane tasks – I mean really, who wants to scan and upload documents every week? or balance the checkbook? or file paperwork at home? Now, some things I choose to do because not everyone balances the checkbook and some people just throw all their personal paperwork away (crazy, I know). Sometimes, I don’t even feel like doing things I enjoy – running, baking, hanging out with friends, ect. It just seems like too much work at certain times. But that is no excuse. God calls me to do everything as if I am working for Him.

What determines your work ethic? What keeps you motivated to do the undesirable tasks in your life?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 22, 2012 in Faith

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “What determines your work ethic?

  1. Sharon

    March 22, 2012 at 1:01 PM

    I shouldn’t admit this because I’m should be more “mature” but it really wasn’t until this year that I really “got” doing everything as an act of worship – and of course don’t always do it – but I was washing all Ken’s ski clothes …. and they are big and have to hang dry etc. – multiple loads – and so basically a pain – and all of a sudden the Holy Spirit reminded me of Brother Lawrence – and I really began going about this chore as unto the Lord!

     

Leave a Reply

 
