RSS

OCHO + Frappevino = Girl’s Night and Left-overs

10 Mar

Spring break week has begun in Texas, which means my husband-student is traveling to see his brothers. If work, time and money were no object, I would have been sitting next to him on the plane bright and early on Friday morning. But, in light of that, I am trying to make my own spring break fun, which started with girl’s night on Friday. I suggested having girl’s night, and L was great enough to make a real plan. We started off at her house with some appetizers and Frappevino. What is Frappevino you ask? It is basically a frozen wine drink that is very easy to make. 1 bottle of red wine + 1 1/2 bottles of water + Frappevino mix +freezer = Frappevino in about 6 hours.

Frappe Vino

The package said it would only take 3-5 hours, but I left it in the freezer for 12 hours and it was still pretty watery. It is possible that I didn’t stir it enough before freezing, so the contents didn’t mix completely. When a few of us went shopping at the San Antonio Rodeo, we stumbled on the Frappevino vender and upon trying it, we all bought a box of the mix. Getting back to girl’s night, our plan was to walk on the riverwalk to the Cafe de Artistes at the San Antonio Art Museum. Since it was rainy, windy and cold (check out the Alamo Cam below), we decided to go somewhere a little closer, OCHO at the Havana Hotel, also on the riverwalk.


Ben and I had eaten there once last fall. We were trying to walk to another restaurant, but I got too tired and hungry and we stopped at OCHO and were pleasantly surprised.  I ordered the hamburguesa torta with house fries and split an order of churros with J. I haven’t had a churro in FOREVER, and these were amazing. They also came with a mini cup de creme a.k.a. the best espresso you’ll ever have in your life! If only I could learn to make espresso that good.

Girl’s night was a blast, as we did things girls do best: talk, laugh and eat! I got home around 11:45pm and somehow stayed up for another hour reading blogs, checking twitter and being otherwise entertained by social media. This morning I slept in until 11 am and it was amazing. Pumpkin pancakes with almond butter were on my breakfast/lunch menu and then I started our taxes.

image

After about four hours of that, I cut some coupons, made a shopping list of very necessary items and headed to the gym for a workout. I had been planning on stopping at Sonic to try their new sweet potato tater tots.  Tots are amazing, so sweet potato tots have to be beyond amazing, right?
Photo courtesy of: http://www.portlandsonic.com/twc/?reload
Photo courtesy of: http://www.portlandsonic.com/twc/?reload

Well, after my workout I was feeling like eating semi-healthy, so I skipped stopping at Sonic and I made some roasted veggies including sweet potatoes, green beans and a few left-over fries from last night. The roasted veggies along with my re-warmed burger made for one of the best meals I have eaten in quite a while. I was in food bliss, and pretty much still am as I write this. I absolutely LOVE left-overs of any kind, but especially really good tasting ones that don’t take too much effort to re-create.

Things I am thankful for today: God providing amazing things for me including: good food, new friends, coupons, and for giving me the strength to workout which makes me want to eat a little healthier.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
