RSS

No-oats Oatmeal

12 Jan

 

image

I found out about No-oats Oatmeal from Tina but didn’t quite like her recipe, so I went online in search of another Paleo “oatmeal.” This has been my breakfast for the last three mornings, and I have come to think it may replace my oatmeal eating forever. Today I got real crazy and added 1/2 a baked sweet potato to the normal ingredients. It was great and I have stayed full for 4 hours!

Recipe:

1 mashed banana
2 eggs
splash of almond or other non-dairy milk
cinnamon
1-?? TBSP of almond butter or other paleo approved nut butter
1/2 baked sweet potato

Mash your banana first, then add other mash-able things(nut butter, milk etc) and mix well. Lastly add two eggs and whisk/stir until well mixed. Put in microwave for 45 seconds on high, stir gently. Microwave for 30 seconds, stir gently. Repeat this process until it is oatmeal-y in texture(usually no more than 2 1/2 minutes for my microwave), but not too cooked or it will just be like some odd tasting scrambled eggs.

I plan to try this with pumpkin next and maybe I’ll get bold and add other fruits/veggies in the future. It is a fun, new way for me to eat eggs in the morning.

Have you tried no-oats oatmeal? What were you thoughts? What other “substitute” foods have you tried?

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Food Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “No-oats Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

 
