RSS

Paleo Challenge Update

11 Jan

It has been just over a week since Ben and I started on our Paleo challenge. It has been much easier on me than on him mainly because I think my tastes have gravitated toward leafy greens and various veggies and lower sugar items, so picking veggies to eat with almost every meal is not too hard. I will say that I went through sugar withdrawals the first few days and I am craving chocolate a lot!

This challenge has caused me to try new recipes because a lot of what I normally cook has some sort of grain or dairy in it. Also, we have had to cook more because eating most types of fast food is completely out of the questions. I made beef stir fry lettuce wraps, which were surprisingly good. I made meatballs for the first time and think with a little fine tuning, they will be a standby recipe for life after paleo. Ben found out he likes sweet potatoes with Tony’s, so at least he will be able to eat a few more carbs. No-oats oatmeal has been my breakfast for the last two mornings, and it might replace regular oatmeal all together.

Aside from the general requirements of eating no grains, no dairy and no legumes, the hardest thing about the Paleo challenge is meal planning. Up until now, if I didn’t plan dinner, we can scrounge around the house or just run somewhere to grab a quick dinner. Now, I need to plan dinner so we can have lunch leftovers, unless we want to be eating eggs for 2 or three meals a day (they are the only quick Paleo food I have found so far). I did some homework tonight and found several recipes that should last a few days and will plan to make them this weekend and for the next week.

Are you trying a new eating plan? What are the challenges? What are you enjoying?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in Food Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Paleo Challenge Update

  1. Sharon

    January 12, 2012 at 9:20 AM

    You might want to check with Bobby and Melissa as they are doing “all natural” nothing processed – and have done it in years past.

    Also – those roasted chickens at the grocery store are a good go to – and I know Angela uses the leftover bones to make chicken stock that she freezes.

    love, s

     

Leave a Reply

 
