RSS

Typically late New Year’s Resolutions

03 Jan

I have decided that since our wedding anniversary falls on New Year’s Day, I have at least one or two more days after that to declare and begin my new year resolutions. It only makes sense to fully focus on our anniversary and later focus on the resolutions. I really haven’t made any grand and sticking resolutions in the past, and this year will be no exception.

I am declaring 2012 the year of health and in that, I want to be at my best health physically, mentally, emotionally and most importantly, spiritually. I can honestly say that I have been lacking in the spiritual department. Yes, I still pray; I still read my bible (not regularly); we still attend church and we really enjoy going to our small group bible study. But really, it’s called a personal relationship for a reason – and I have definitely been neglecting my relationship with the Lord. I am so thankful He is ever-loving and ever-forgiving, because otherwise I would have been struck dead a LONG time ago!

On the other accounts, in 2012 I already have more races planned in the spring months than I have run in my whole running career! My goal is to keep my base miles around 6 to 7 and be consistent in weight training three times a week. Mainly, consistency is my goal because it seems that I’ll really focus on running and skip the weights for a few months, and the next few months I’m going to classes and lifting but not running. I’d like to see if I can keep a good balance throughout the next year. I can’t talk about physical health without mentioning diet (in terms of the food I eat, not which diet I’m on). Ben and I decided to go “Paleo” a.k.a. Caveman from January 3rd until Feb 10th, which is a little over 30 days. I really need to get back on a majority plant-based diet and this is a great way to do it. I’m so glad Ben is joining me because it means mutual encouragement, and commiserating.

Saying that 2012 is the year of health also means that I am hoping to be a healthy influence on others in my life. I would love to see my friends and family choose healthy lifestyles and I would love to see it begin in 2012. I have learned that healthy living is a lifestyle and you have to choose each day to make healthy decisions.

What is your theme for 2012? How will that carry through to the various areas of your life?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2012 in Daily Gratitude, Faith

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Typically late New Year’s Resolutions

  1. wartica

    January 3, 2012 at 8:35 PM

    I’m glad to hear you set the standards high this year; I think we all need positive goals to set for the next year and on as well. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track.Hope you had a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

     
  2. Danica

    January 3, 2012 at 8:36 PM

    Wow…Paleo! I can’t wait to hear all about how that goes for you and Ben!

     

Leave a Reply

 
