RSS

It’s Thanksgiving Week

22 Nov

It is about time a got on the band wagon and started posting my daily gratitude for the month of November, but actually after going to bible study last night, I was thinking that maybe a better challenge would be daily gratitude for a year. (Thank you to LC for the verse selections below; she did the work to prepare for leading our girls group and I’m using them for my blog post). It’s easier to think of things we are thankful for during this season because it seems that everyone around us is trying to do the same thing. I heard a convicting quote on the radio yesterday morning:

If we don’t give thanks for the things God has already given us (good & bad), how can we expect Him to give us anything else?

It is so easy for me to question God when things aren’t going the way they should, and take the blessings in life for granted, without offering thanks for either one. As Americans we are used to a higher standard of life than almost everyone else in the world, and each day I take those things for granted as well. I don’t mean to write this to cause anyone to feel guilty, myself included, but to call awareness to the great blessing we each have.

Romans 1:21 For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened.

After reading the section of Romans 1:21-31, I was getting the idea that if we know God but do not give thanks for his blessings or glorify him by living our lives according to his word, we will be given over to the things of the world and no longer be lights for him. That reason alone is a great motivator for me to start thanking God for all the things I have in my life.

Colossians 2:6-7 So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

These two verses compound on the Romans verses. To me, this is saying by living in the Lord, being rooted and built up in him, and being strengthened by our faith we will be people who overflow with thankfulness. I can see in my own life how if I am not in the word and not living my life for Christ, I am not a thankful, joyous person. Keeping our minds focused on the Lord gives us the perspective to live a life that is overflowing with thankfulness, no matter what the situation.

Philippians 2:14-15a 14 Do everything without complaining or arguing, 15 so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 16 Be joyful always; 17 pray continually; 18 give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Daily Gratitude Day 1: I am thankful for our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, because without His perfect sacrifice, I would not be forgiven of my sins or be able to have assurance of my salvation & eternal life.

What are you thankful for today?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 22, 2011 in Faith

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “It’s Thanksgiving Week

  1. Sharon

    November 22, 2011 at 1:04 PM

    I’m thankful for you sharing this post :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
