RSS

Pure Protein REVOLUTION: Food Review

29 Oct

I had the chocolate Peanut Caramel flavor, which is usually pretty good in other brands. The big nutrient breakdown is 180 calories, 20g protein, 17g carbs, 1g sugar, 11g sugar alcohol (what does that mean?), and a good assortment of vitamins and minerals.  Unfortunately, there is not much good that can be said about this bar. The taste was pretty bad, but I ate it because I needed some energy before I ran, but didn’t want to wait for real food to digest. I can generally run on bars or bananas without too much trouble.

image

I think the bad taste came from the 11g of sugar alcohols, which are basically no-calorie chemical compounds pretending to be sugar to sweeten things up. That is not a scientific definition, just my understanding of sugar alcohols. If you really want to understand what they are and how they are made, please research them yourself. Right on the package it says ” WARNING: This product contains sugar alcohols, which may cause gastrointestinal discomfort. Excessive consumption may have a laxative effect.” Ok, I should have read that before eating because I’m counting on this to get me through at least 5 miles of my 8 mile run this morning.

All in all, this is a 2 because it provides a good amount of protein but that is where the good stops. There are way to many unnatural ingredients in this bar for me to say it would be a good choice to frequently rely on for energy or nutrients. I bought this bar because I had a coupon, and I like to try new things.

Have you tried the Pure Protein REVOLUTION bars? What did you think of them? What is your go-to energy or protein bar and why is it your favorite?

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
