RSS

I Started Reading Again

19 Sep

I wrote this entire post this morning on my smartphone, and then I lost the entire thing! Hopefully the second round will be as good as the first one.

The name of this post is probably misleading, because I have never stopped reading completely for any length of time. I just quit reading fiction books after high school. I have started reading a few here and there, but I don’t have any interest in them, and usually end up not finishing them. It might bother some people, but I have no problem starting a book and not finishing it. I enjoy non-fiction books because I can learn something, and I enjoy magazines because they are quick, easy reads and usually have good tips, advice or recipes.

I think this might change, after reading the last Twilight Saga book, Breaking Dawn. I’ll give some background data on why I ready this book, because announcing this makes me feel like I should be 13. All three Twilight movies were playing on DirecTV one weekend, so I DVR-ed them. I had seen the first two, but it had been a while, so I watched all three of them that weekend. I was left in complete suspense as to how the story would end, and decided I HAD to read the 4th book because waiting until November to see the first half of the 4th book would not be ok. As tweenish as that sounds, I am completely serious.

image

I went on the Public Library website to see if it was available, but all 9 copies were checked out AND had holds on them. I knew it would be weeks or longer before I would get to read any of those copies so I checked the undergrad library at St. Mary’s because Ben can check books out from there. They had the book and it was on the shelf. I drug Ben to the library the next day so he could check the book out for me. Now, I did not expect this book to be so big, like 750+ pages big. Back when the Harry Potter books were popular, I started reading the series, but when I got to the 4th book and it was 700+ pages, I quit. I decided I could watch the movies and that would be good enough.

The size of Breaking Dawn didn’t stop me from starting the book, but I was convinced after the 2nd part that I wouldn’t really want to ready anymore of it. As far as I knew, my favorite character wasn’t going to be in the last 350+ pages, which meant it probably wouldn’t be that interesting. I pushed on, and was surprised to find I enjoyed the whole book, which had me guessing up until the end. I would definitely recommend reading all the Twilight books, or at least watching the first three movies and reading the last book. They are very well written, and somehow believable, even though it is about vampires, warewolves and humans.

Since reading this book that will be made into a movie, I have decided I should start reading books that have movie versions or are going to have movies made about them. In the past, I have found the movie usually lets you down, but it is always good to read the book and get the real story before watching a move. I have listed a few books that I plan on reading and then watching the movie.

  • The Godfather – Ben’s favorite movie and he told me that the book is better than the movie
  • Water for Elephants –  The movie previews have me wondering, so I might as well read the book first
  • The Help – Danica said this was a good book, so I might find out 

Any more than three books are probably not getting read, at least not anytime before 2012. I’ll read a book pretty quickly if its interesting but I seem to need time in between books.

What books are you reading right now? Do you have any “must read” or “made into movie” books for my list?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2011 in Books/Reading

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “I Started Reading Again

  1. Sharon

    September 19, 2011 at 2:42 PM

    Have read Water for elephants – long time ago – but remember it was good.
    Loved The Help – both book and movie — but more my era than yours :)

     
  2. Cultural Life

    September 20, 2011 at 6:26 AM

    I know how you feel re: Twilight. It feels so ‘tweenish’ to admit to liking it but the series is gripping! Did you see the latest trailer for the Breaking Dawn movie?

    I recommend reading Water for Elephants before seeing the movie. I watched the movie last weekend and although it is good (and Robert Pattinson is very yummy in it!) I think the book is better. The book actually made me cry when I read parts of it whereas the movie doesn’t have the same power, in my opinion.

    Another book which I would definitely recommend reading before seeing the movie version is The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. It is a beautiful, poignant story which brought tears to my eyes but the movie changed it so much and made the story way too sappy.

     
  3. Auntie M

    September 22, 2011 at 8:26 PM

    My opinion is that the book is ALWAYS better than the movie. In a book the author has the ability to tell us more about what the characters are thinking and feeling, as opposed to having to guess by the actors facial expression and limited conversations. I just finished reading The Help and loved it! The way the author weaved the historical elements into the lives of the women we were reading about was very cool.
    I recommend anything by Jody Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and my favorite series to date: the In Death series by JD Robb. It’s a gritty story about a New York City homicide detective set in 2060. I know, it’s kind of weird (but no worse than VAMPIRES) but it’s fascinating to me. Just try the first one and see if it interests you.
    I just found your blog-site again so I’m reading backward! :)

     
  4. Mom

    October 4, 2011 at 8:46 AM

    Hmmmm, books? Just start reading any books about “grass” and you’ll love them! Ha! Actually, Ivan Doig is the author I am reading now. Yes, fiction, but set in historical settings in Montana/Wyoming where he is from (mining/union organizing, building of the Ft. Peck dam, farming/ranching). Also, I am enjoying Luanne Rice’s books – fiction, but PG rated, and all about relationships, and always a good story.

     

Leave a Reply

 
