RSS

Workouts 8/27-9/2

02 Sep

Training begins this week. As I was laying in bed “early” Saturday morning, contemplating if I should go for a short run, I calculated the number of weeks until my half marathon (Rock’N’Roll San Antonio). It is approximately 10. TEN WEEKS!! Ok, I was serious when I said I wasn’t training for real until September, but now September is almost here and I have to start training for real. I decided the best thing I should do is a pace work out because I want to increase my pace, and therefore decrease my 1/2 marathon time. As you can see from Saturday’s workout, I’m not the greatest at pacing, but in ten weeks I should be ready to go. I also need to build up the number of miles I’m running each week, because it has been pretty low for the last few months. I don’t really have a training plan mapped out, but I will include speed work, pace training and hills. I followed a few of the Crossfit Endurance workouts in July, and I liked them, but they left me feeling like a sprinter, not a long distance runner. Maybe there is a way to combine it all. As long as I’m running and keeping my body healthy, that will be the key.

Saturday, August 27 –
AM: Pace training workout -9:30 min mile goal
10 min walk warm-up
Mile 1: 8:30
Mile 2: 9:30
Mile 3: 9:40
Mile 4: 9:30
5 min walk cooldown
15 min yoga/stretching

9:30 Leisurely 10 minute bike ride to farmer’s market & back

PM: 45 minutes stair-stepper, 5 min walk cooldown, 10 min foam roll/stretch

Sunday, August 28 – REST

Monday, August 29 –
AM: 10 min walk, 3 min run (my shin hurt so I decided to stop and give it some rest) 15 min yoga
PM: 35 min stair-stepper

Tuesday, August 30 – REST

Wednesday, August 31 – REST

Thursday, August 1 –
PM: 45 minute bike ride (to the library and home), 20 min foam rolling/stretching

Friday, August 2 – REST

As you can tell from the log, I was almost completely in-active. This was not due to laziness, but due to the fact that my shin splint has been acting up since Monday. (Did you notice my Saturday workout? I may be to blame for this). I decided to take the week off, RICE the leg and hope that by Monday I will be able to do some short, slow runs. I have been bouncing off the walls and really wanting to exercise, but sometimes a break is good. I want to be able to run the entire half marathon and beat my time, so if that means taking my training slow and steady to avoid injury, that is what I will do.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Running, Work Out Logs

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
