RSS

Wal-Mart Price Matching

28 Aug

Today I decided to try price matching at Wal-Mart after being inspired by Tiffany Ivanovsky’s website: www.mylitter.com. She always posts the best deals and how to use your coupons most effectively. Today there were two price match-ups for Walgreen’s and CVS. They had better prices than Wal-Mart, but to save time when shopping, you can just go to Wal-Mart and they will match the price. There are a few stipulations, including prices must be listed in the ad. I watched her very informative video and decided I had all the things I needed to price match for peanut butter. As I have learned, it is a good idea to start small with one or two items, in case things don’t go as planned.

My plan was to buy Planter’s Creamy Peanut Butter with two coupons – The below picture and saving’s match-up are from Tiffany’s website.

Have you tried the new Planters peanut butter? About time they made their own.

Planters Peanut Butter – $1.50
Walmart Price $1.98
Price Match to Walgreens price: 2/$3
$0.75/1 Planters Peanut Butter, exp. 10/2/11 (SS 08/21/11)
Total $1.50/2 when you use 2 coupons

The problem came when I got to the peanut butter shelf and there was only one jar of Planter’s Creamy Peanut Butter. So, I decided to be resourceful and get one jar of Planter’s and one jar of Skippy, which was also a deal from Walgreen’s and I had a coupon. See the below match-up from Tiffany’s website.

Skippy Peanut Butter 15oz – 16.5oz
Walmart Price $2.12
Price Match CVS – 3 for $5 or $1.66
Use $1/1 Skippy Peanut Butter Product, exp. 8/28/11 (RP 07/31/11 R) EXPIRES SUNDAY!
Or use $1/2 Skippy Peanut Butter Product, exp. 8/28/11 (RP 07/31/11)
Total: $.66 to $1.16 each!

Now, for the lessons I learned today. First, Wal-Mart will only price match if you buy the EXACT thing in the ad. Therefore, since I didn’t have 2 Planter’s peanut butter, I could not get one for $1.50. Also, since I did not want to buy 3 Skippy peanut butters (I only had one coupon), I could not get one for $1.66. When the manager let me know that I could not buy one of each at their sale prices, I decided I wouldn’t buy any peanut butter. There is another Wal-Mart near my work, and I could go there tomorrow to see if they had the Planter’s. 

The second thing I learned, was pay attention to the price of items with out the price match. I had one coupon for $1 off of the Skippy peanut butter, which would have made it $1.12 for one jar. That is definitely a savings and I should have purchased the one jar, even if they wouldn’t honor the price match. The Skippy coupon expires today, so that deal is dead because there is no way I’m going back to Wal-Mart tonight. I can still go tomorrow and get the Planter’s for 75¢ each. I don’t really need three jars of peanut butter, but it is a non-perishable and Ben does eat a LOT of peanut butter, so it wouldn’t go to waste.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 28, 2011 in Couponing

 

One response to “Wal-Mart Price Matching

  1. Melinda Buss

    August 29, 2011 at 7:30 AM

    EMILY!! Cool blog! Now I have two to read, your’s and Danica’s. I can see that you are both dedicated to healthy living and loving God! I’m so excited to check back often! Good luck with your training for the San Antonio 1/2 Marathon!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
