RSS

Lack of Faith

27 Jul

I am reading the story of Elijah in 1 Kings 17. I’ll give you the short version, but you should read all of chapter 17 for the context. At one point God tells him to go to a certain city and that there will be a widow to feed him while he is there. So he is staying with the widow and her son, but they only have a little flour and a little oil in a jug. Elijah tells them what God has said and miraculously the flour and oil do not run out as long as he is there. One day the widow’s son dies. Elijah asks God to bring the boy back to life, and God does it! When the widow see’s her son alive, then she says “Now I know that you are a man of God and that the word of the LORD from your mouth is the truth.”

I am astonished by the fact that only after the son dies and is brought back to life, does the widow believe in God. They only had enough flour and oil for one last day meal, yet when Elijah showed up, they continued to have food as long as he was there. That wasn’t enough to believe in God?? And of course, there is the scripture in which Jesus says if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you can move a mountain.

I feel like I have faith in God, but when it comes down to it…do I? I definitely believe I am saved through Jesus’ death and resurrection, and that I will live with him in heaven forever. I believe God will provide for all of my NEEDS, which he has clearly showed me through my whole life (although sometimes I didn’t know it, or acknowledge it). But, the problem is, if I really am honest, I do not think I could move a mountain, because logic (the world) tells me that is not possible. And yet, the bible says, with God ALL things are possible. and “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me.” I pray that if there is ever a day in which I need to move a mountain, God will allow me the full faith to do it.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 27, 2011 in Faith

 

Leave a Reply

 
