RSS

Cold vs. Allergies…???

02 Jun

On Sunday we took a trip to Austin with Mom and Renae. It has been pretty hot the last week or so, and it was time for some swimming. We tried to go to a natural pool outside of Austin, but after a wrong turn and the gas station attendant telling us it was an hour wait to get in the gate, we decided to go to Barton Springs in Austin. Barton Springs in a natural spring that has been dammed up to make a HUGE pool…I’m thinking Olympic sized or larger.

The water was very cold (like the lakes in Minnesota) and felt great. After laying out for an hour or so, I began to get stuffed up and my throat really hurt and about 5 hours later, when we got to dinner at Trudy’s (amazing!!) my nose was completely plugged. Thank goodness for spicy salsa, that helped a little bit.

All this to say, I can’t tell whether I have a cold or allergies. This came on very fast (with in a few hours) and has lasted until today and probably I won’t feel 100% until tomorrow or Saturday. I started losing my voice on Tuesday night and still am having trouble talking today. I’m sneezing, blowing my nose like crazy (I went through two boxes of kleenex since Tuesday) and coughing. Oh yeah, did I mention I completely lost my voice for at least 24 hrs??

Whatever it is, it is annoying. I was going to start running more regularly, but now I’m sick and can’t breathe, so no running for me. I’m trying not to complain, because my verse of the week/month/life says “Do everything without complaining or arguing, so you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and perverse generation, in which you shine like the stars of the universe.” Philippians 2:14.

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
