RSS

Farmer’s Market Finds

16 May

On Saturday Ben and I went to the Farmer’s Market at the Pearl Brewery, right down the street from our house. I was hoping to find some local produce, but there weren’t too many familiar things (swiss chard, arugula, green eggs). At one stand there were several different types of squash, and I have recently began to enjoy eating squash. So I picked out two small, round, yellow ones.

Yellow Scallp Squash a.ka. Patty Pan Squash

By the time I got home I couldn’t even remember the name of the squash, or how the girl told me to cook it. Google is such an asset, because I just googled for squash pictures, found this one and its name and then googled for recipes on how to cook them. The next picture is the result of my googling(is that a word?).

Stuffed Patty Pan Squash

To cook the squash, you first cut off its stem and wash it. Next, fill a sauce pan with enough water to cover the squash. They float so its never fully covered. Bring the water to a boil and then boil the squash until it is soft (not mushy). While this it is boiling, melt a Tablespoon of butter in a medium fry pay. Saute some chopped onions until they are soft. Season with garlic salt (I never have real garlic on hand). Next dice some zucchini and add it to the onion mix until tender. Chopped almonds are optional, but I added them and it was great.

The squash should be soft by this time. Take it out of the water, and when it is cool enough, scoop out the insides. Place scooped out insides in the fry pay with onion/zucchini mixture. Set the squash in a small casserole dish that has been greased (sprayed with cooking spray in my case). Stir all ingredients together on low heat. I added some crushed pretzels (6-8) because I didn’t have crackers, and the original recipe called for 1/4 cup of cheese, but I didn’t add that. After these ingredients are well mixed, place them all back into the squash. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until the squash is quite soft. Take out of the oven and enjoy!

One of these was a good portion for one person. Ben bought some grass-fed pork chops and made them in the slow cooker from his Kindle recipe for Italian Slow-Cooked Pork Chops. I forgot to take a picture of that. It was a great meal, although we decided we didn’t need to buy grass-fed pork again.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 16, 2011 in Cooking

 

Leave a Reply

 
